ICC Deputy Prosecutor Candidates Outline Qualifications

Coalition promotes fair and transparent election of most qualified candidate

States parties cast their votes during the ICC judicial elections at the 10th Assembly of State Parties in New York, December 2011. See: CICC/Solal Gaillard.

In order to promote transparency of process and the election of the most highly qualified candidate to the position of deputy prosecutor of the International Criminal Court (ICC), the Coalition for the ICC has asked the three candidates nominated by the ICC prosecutor to complete a questionnaire relating to their backgrounds and experiences. The completed questionnaires can be found on the Coalition’s website.

On 14 November 2012 during the opening of the 11th session of the Assembly of States Parties (ASP) to the Rome Statute in The Hague, states parties will elect a new deputy prosecutor to replace Ms. Fatou Bensouda, who vacated the post after taking office as Chief Prosecutor. Ms. Bensouda submitted to the ASP a shortlist of three candidates for consideration: Ms. Raija Toiviainen (Finland); Mr. Paul Rutledge (Australia); and Mr. James Stewart (Canada).

The Deputy Prosecutor of the ICC is elected by secret ballot by an absolute majority of the members of the ASP. Ms. Bensouda’s deputy will hold office for a non-renewable term of nine years, unless a shorter term is decided upon at the time of the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Africa Legal Aid

Alexanderveld 5

2585 AN Den Haag

The Netherlands

Fax: +31 (0)703 454 968



Connect With Us

Log in